The “budweiser”

This file is a work of a sailor or employee of the U.S. Navy, taken or made as part of that person’s official duties. As a work of the U.S. federal government, the image is in the public domain in the United States

 “All in. All the time.”

– Brent Gleeson (Navy SEAL Inspirational Quote)

The Special Warfare Insignia, also known as the “Budweiser” or SEAL Trident, is the official insignia worn by the Navy SEALs. The SEAL Trident consists of an eagle clutching a flintlock-style pistol, a trident and a U.S. Navy Anchor.

The SEALs, named for Sea, Air and Land, the environments in which they operate, receive this SEAL Trident after successfully completing the three phase, twenty-five week BUD/S (Basic Underwater Demolition/SEAL) Training, SQT (SEAL Qualification Training) and are designated a Navy SEAL:

BUD/S Phase 1 – Physical Conditioning (8 weeks)

  • Running in the sand
  • Swimming – up to 2 miles w/fins in the ocean
  • Calisthenics
  • Timed Obstacle Course
  • Four-mile timed runs in boots
  • Small boat seamanship
  • Hydrographic surveys and creating charts
  • Hell Week – Week 4 of Phase 1
  • 5 ½ days of continuous training
  • Four hours sleep, total
  • Swimming
  • Running
  • Enduring cold, wet, and exhaustion
  • Rock Portage in Rubber Raiding Craft
  • Doing 10 times what you thought possible

BUD/S Phase 2 – Diving (8 weeks)

  • Step up intensity of the physical training
  • Focus on Combat Diving
  • Open-Circuit (compressed air) SCUBA
  • Closed-Circuit (100% oxygen) SCUBA
  • Long-distance underwater dives
  • Mission-focused combat swimming and diving techniques

BUD/S Phase 3 – Land Warfare (9 weeks)

  • Increasingly strenuous physical training
  • Weapons training
  • Demolitions (military explosives)
  • Small unit tactics
  • Patrolling techniques
  • Rappelling and fast rope operations
  • Marksmanship

SQT includes:

  • Weapons training
  • Small unit tacticss
  • Land navigation
  • Demolitions
  • Cold weather training
  • Medical skills
  • Maritime operations

Before graduating SQT, candidates also attend SERE training:

  • Survival
  • Evasion
  • Resistance
  • Escape

SQT training will also qualify candidates in:

  • Static-line parachute operations
  • Freefall parachute operations (High Altitude-Low Opening “HALO”)
  • Freefall parachute operations (High Altitude-High Opening “HAHO”)

Established in 1970, the SEAL Trident was issued in two grades, silver for enlisted and gold for officers. The silver insignia was abolished later in the 1970s and from that time forward was awarded in gold only to both enlisted and officers. This was due in large part to the side-by-side (enlisted/officer) BUD/S training and makes the SEAL Trident unique, as it is one of the few Navy badges issued in single grade.

The Special Warfare Insignia derived its moniker the “Budweiser” from its striking resemblance to the Anheuser-Busch logo, which has an eagle intertwined with the Anheuser-Busch A.

No matter which of its names it is known by, the SEAL Trident is proudly worn by those who have earned the right to be called a Navy SEAL. They can trace their history to the frogmen of World War II and are the foundation of the combat forces of Naval Special Warfare.


About Jenifer Chrisman

Jenifer joined the MWR Marketing team in 2011 as graphic designer. In 2014, she went back to her roots when she joined the Fort Gordon FYI Magazine team as a writer, along with her designer duties. As of 2015, she has created a series of briefs about the history, culture and traditions of the military called Culture.Mil, as well as writing various other pieces, including her favorite ... A Thin Line Of Many Colors.

Leave a Reply